Words with no English Translation

27 Jan

retrouvaillesSo with this assignment Make The Untranslatable Understood you are asked to choose a word from this random word generator provided and apply it to an Image that gives the word meaning and a better understanding through the visual.  I came to the word Retrouvailles meaning “The happiness of meeting again after a long time.”  I knew I had some pictures that would fit this description.  Do I decided to use this picture of me and three of my very good friends who haven’t seen each other in a long time.  We all ended up taking different roads in life so far so it had been a long time since we last met.  The process for making this was fairly simple.  I just opened my image in Photoshop and used the basic text tool to add my word.  I chose to use a muted color from the picture using the   tool so the word would not stand out as much and let the picture speak for itself.

mis amigos
2 Responses to “Words with no English Translation”

  1. Giulia January 28, 2012 at 2:30 AM #

    I’m so glad to see this assignment again. The feeling can only be described as Retrouvailles! Nice work.

  2. gabbalabba January 28, 2012 at 10:42 AM #

    This is a sad, yet quite meaningful simple project. I like the photo because it is real and not too fancy, also thanks for muting the letters I thought that the word was there by coincidence.

Leave a Reply

