Vannever Bush Pokemon

13 Jan

So my first DS106 assignment I chose to do the Pokemon card assignment. I chose to make Bush a Steel type Pokemon because of his association with technology and computers.  His attacks are based on his contributions to computer science as a field, as well as his idea of the Memex which was never actually created, but was a very accurate depiction of some of the devices we have today such as smart phones and tablet PCs.  the process of making the card was fairly simple, there is a variety of websites that allow you to make your own custom Pokemon cards.  the one I used only took me 10 minuets or so to make this. here is the link to http://www.mypokecard.com/en/.  All you have to do is upload a picture of your choice and edit the stats such as Name, HP(health) Attacks, description of attacks, Pokemon type (such as Fire, Water, Physic Ect.) and a variety of other traits that will update your card image as you make your selections.  After you are satisfied with how it looks  right click the image and save it or you can even print it and glue it over top of a real Pokemon card if you want.

11 Responses to “Vannever Bush Pokemon”

  1. lockmantuj January 17, 2012 at 11:05 PM #

    This it totally awesome. I am so glad someone picked up this assignment idea. Now anyone can add to the series with additional pioneers.

    I hope nobody beats me to John C. Dvorak.

    By the way, I think this should be tagged as DesignAssignments39 instead of DesignTutorials39. Also a link back to the original assignment on the ds106 site would be helpful.

  2. roundhouseslap January 18, 2012 at 12:10 AM #

    Awesome! I didn’t realize there was a Pokemon card assignment. I’m going to look that up and maybe do my next pioneer ds106 assignment as a Pokemon card too. I’ll just need to remember to link back here.

    What was Vannevar’s association with WWII? That sounds potentially interesting. Aside from the As We May Think article, I don’t know much about Bush’s personal history.

    • lockmantuj January 18, 2012 at 10:28 AM #

      Bush proposed to President that a National Defense Research Committee (NDRC) be set up during the war and was appointed as it’s chairman. He made a substantial contribution to the war effort in this role.

      He was also one of the founding partners of Raytheon (a major defense contractor).

  3. ekhlami January 18, 2012 at 12:25 AM #

    This is possibly the coolest thing I’ll see all week. You totally just made my day!

  4. johanlackbeard January 18, 2012 at 12:36 AM #

    I love this.

  5. lockmantuj January 22, 2012 at 10:26 AM #

    Looking more closely at your post, I didn’t realize there was a Pokemon card generator. That is an amazing site. The idea of doing it in ten or fifteen minutes is much more appealing than the several hours it took for me to do the Adam Osborne card.

    But I was able to learn a crap-load of new tricks and techniques Gimp along the way so I guess it’s not all a loss.

    One thing I like better about yours is that you stay true to the Pokemon card game spirit by giving actions and powers for Bush. What’s beautiful about the way you did it is the the cyclops camera and analog computer totally work for the big V.

  6. Jim groom January 22, 2012 at 2:54 PM #

    I am with Johan Lack Beard, I love this. Brilliant idea beautifully execute. Well done.

  7. Giulia January 24, 2012 at 1:01 PM #

    Yes, this is brilliant!

  8. Ken Hayashi January 24, 2012 at 6:03 PM #

    Man that’s awesome! That website seems very helpful, too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pioneer Pokemon Card: Adam Osborne | CIS 0835 – SP12 - January 22, 2012

    […] been looking at to start our semester. I sensed immediate excitement from several students when his Vannever Bush card was projected on the big screen one morning last week. I announced then that I intended to do one. […]

  2. Lickilider, I choose you! « roundhouseslap - January 22, 2012

    […] yet, check out Prof. Lockman’s Pioneer Pokemon Card: Adam Osborne and LazyPenguin13′s Vannevar Bush Pokemon posts. The link to the original assignment can be found here. The instructions are […]

Leave a Reply

